Font size
Color scheme
Line spacing

Tver State University


Tver State University (TSU) is the largest university in the Upper-Volga Region and holds the status of one of the popular universities of the central Russian region. The University is located in Tver city between two capitals of Russia, Moscow and Saint Petersburg, about 150 km from Moscow.
The University is currently a state-funded institution with  6500 full-time, 190 postgraduate students and  1800 correspondent ones.

It includes 2 institutes, 12 faculties and 68 sub-departments, where students obtain knowledge and skills practically in any sphere they are interested in, having a 2-cycle system of education. Students are enrolled in 46 Bachelor and 6 Specialist fields of study, 46 Master degree and 31 Postgraduate programs. There are 9 teaching blocks and 8 halls of residence for comfortable living at the students' disposal.
TSU has over 20 research schools in 15 branches of knowledge, There are 6 dissertation councils, 15 scientific centers, about 4 scientific research laboratories, Botanical Garden (which is one of the oldest botanical gardens in the north-west of Russia). Scientific Library serves 11 thousand readers and lends more than 1 million books, magazines, electronic documents and other issues.

Language of training — Russian for all programs


Faculties and Institutes

  • Faculty of Foreign Languages and International Communication
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Faculty of History
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Psychology
  • Faculty of Mathematics
  • Faculty of Applied Mathematics and Cybernetic
  • Physico-Technical Faculty
  • Faculty of Geography and Geoecology 
  • Faculty of Chemistry and Technology
  • Faculty of Biology
  • Faculty of Physical Education
  • Institute of Economics and Management
  • Institute of Pedagogical Education and Social Technology


Russian Language Preparatory Course for Foreigners

Degree programs


History of Tver State University

Tver city